Habit? Trait? Fetish?

After a couple of crushes, a marriage, and what I thought might have been infatuations, I have seen a common denominator in all these “relationships”.

I fall for teacher figures. Not authority figures – I really don’t like being bossed around.

Example one: a volleyball coach from my early teens. A teen crush never acted upon. Oh, my aching heart.

Example two: My driving instructor. A proper adult male. Quite old, actually. Must have been in his forties. 😀 Ugh…totally embarrassing to think back on.

Example three: a volleyball coach who taught the company team. This went so far as marriage and 3 kids. And a divorce, because, well, shit happens.

Example four: while I was married I got my motorcycle drivers license. The driving instructor got me all nervous and giddy. This one had me “scared” and thinking: am I a lesbian? Because, you know, the instructor was a woman.

Five: After my divorce I met a man I was truly fascinated by. Loved his lifestyle, his wandering ways and his exoticness (part norwegian, part caribbean). This, I thought, was the real deal. Turns out, not so much. He was also, in part, a teacher figure. He “taught” me the joy of sex. Oh my, what good times we had.

Six: this final infatuation didn’t seem to fit the pattern, until it just recently hit me. I thought I fell for him because he seemed to be a MAN, sure of himself, and an all round pleasant guy. I felt comfortable around him. Christ, I even danced and sang in front of him, sober! Never done that before. In retrospect, he was also a teacher figure. He knows lots about boats, engines, a jack-of-all-trades, and helped me out in my new life on the water.

Even though I am aware of this pattern, I keep repeating it.

So. What to do?

Make sure the next person I fall for has nothing practical to offer me?

Have I ever been truly in love?

About life_of_tine

I have been slightly awakened these last few years, better late than never, and thought documenting my travels through the latter half of my life could be fun. I will be writing about my physical travels on this planet, and my internal travels to find a better sense of well-being, health and maybe even ME. At least I'll give it a go, not too many deep and profound thoughts running through my mind... And anything else that happens to grab my attention. ;-)
This entry was posted in Dating, love, Men, philosiphizing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment