No thanks, I don’t chew.

This is my go-to answer whenever offered chewing gum.

Because, well… Just look a little closer at gum chewers next time you meet one.

They kinda remind me of ruminants. You know, like cows and such, chewing on regurgitated food from their third stomach, or what-have-you. No food in sight, but there they are, chomping away.

Secondly, again they look kinda like cows. Chewing mindlessly, often with the blank look you often see on said animals, and having the same air of intelligence – or lack thereof.

Not so long ago, out of pure boredom, I did, in fact, put gum in mouth. The first few chews are quite delicious, getting the saliva running, I even popped a few bubbles. But then it just turns in to rubber. I could feel myself gradually looking dumber and dumber the more I chewed. So out it went, after about 10 minutes.

Strangely, kids so young you can barely understand them, toddle straight up to the chewing gum display and say “tyggis?” (gum, in Norwegian).

I’ve heard that you should never turn down an offer of breath mints, because, you know, there’s probably a reason you are being offered one… So maybe the same goes for gum?

But, honestly, I have to draw the line somewhere.

About life_of_tine

I have been slightly awakened these last few years, better late than never, and thought documenting my travels through the latter half of my life could be fun. I will be writing about my physical travels on this planet, and my internal travels to find a better sense of well-being, health and maybe even ME. At least I'll give it a go, not too many deep and profound thoughts running through my mind... And anything else that happens to grab my attention. ;-)
This entry was posted in Contemplations of a shop assistant, Life in general, philosiphizing, Ukategorisert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment